Currently Watching -February Edition-

I was hoping to start writing this series earlier this month, but now it’s a good time as well.

It’s very easy to get stuck in the past, especially as you get older.

There’s so many animes that I want to revisit at some point, that I find myself wishing I had more screens, just to watch them all, but that’s not gonna happen anytime soon.

For February, I thought I was gonna find myself with little to no new animes to watch, and I’m kinda glad I was wrong.

In no particular order, let us begin…

Kobayashi’s Maid Dragon

20161017_085022
It’s as silly as you imagine it to be…

Of the new animes that I started watching, this one has to be my favorite and I can’t really pinpoint why. I’ve tried explaining it to several people and all I get is blank look from most of them. I know I’ve been on a slice-of-life kick lately, but this anime is not like that. It could also be the way I’m describing the plot.

Recap time: 11 seconds…

A dragon from another world decides to be a maid and goes to live with a young woman in Japan that rescues her, her friends follow her and learn all about the human world. Oh, hijinks ensue.

That’s not too odd, is it?

I guess it has to be the art style, cause that’s always a draw for me. It could be the greatest story ever told, but if the animators can’t draw me in….(yes I realize that was a pun…)

Yes, I like shiny things, like all of us like shiny things, don’t deny it…

Six episodes in and it’s the only anime that I’m watching week to week, more on it to come later…

An easy recommendation for anyone looking for something to new to watch, if only to try it for one episode…

Masamune-kun’s Revenge

anime_release
I’m at odds with myself, I want him to fail and succeed at the same time…

I saw the promo video for this one, and added it to my queue, but it was at the urging of one of my friends that I decided to watch it and I’m so very glad I did.

I don’t really have an opinion of it yet, being only 3 episodes in, but it’s a ride I’m definitely enjoying so far, and I guess I don’t want to be watching all my new animes week to week, but maybe I should.

Recap time: 15 seconds

Masamune-kun is one of the school’s most attractive guys, but it wasn’t always that way. Having to work to get to that status, he’s now hell-bent on making the girl that rejected him in his youth fall in love with him, only to reject her and break her heart. Oh, hijinks ensue…

This anime is one of the standout animes of the season, and I’ve heard nothing but good reviews from a lot of my trusted sources so I’m already on board, stay tuned for more on this one…

The Saga of Tanya the Evil

b6cb5d2061b72df2e04e6b9678acfa631483619277_full
The littlest nazi…

Hmm…

I always say to watch the first episode of any anime to gauge the style, story, pacing and overall interest.

This anime is the exception to the rule.

The first episode was flashy, extravagant, and it sets a very odd tone to the series overall, not a bad one mind you, but it’s just odd, and despite the excellent reviews and the good word of mouth, from the first episode I wasn’t feeling it and I was even doubting myself whether my sources had been wrong for once…

I reluctantly put on the next episode and I was instantly relieved to find that it was a good anime, and it was just a question of watching the second episode.

Recap time: 16 seconds

      A salaryman is punished by God for not having faith in Him, and is reincarnated as a little girl in an alternate universe where “Germany” is at war with the Allied nations. Kinda like their version of World War 1. Oh and there’s magic here too, for some reason…   

I do think that the first episode of this anime hurts its cause instead of helping it. I did hear from a number of reviewers that you need to watch the first two episodes to really immerse yourself in it and like I said before, I’m glad I did.

There’s no way you can find out what this anime is about from the first episode, and while that’s not bad, it’s also not good, but it might have to do with the presentation more than anything.

I’m not watching this one week to week either, I have a few episodes left to see, but I do enjoy it, and I’ll be writing a small post on it in the near future. I say small, cause I’m not that big of a fan just yet, and I like to let ideas and impressions sink in before I decide to dedicate time to them.

Fuuka

 

3b86bbf3ad40f36f86df634e138837ca1484112439_full
The main character is not one of these girls…

 

Of all the animes I’m currently watching, this is the one with the least original idea. The animation and story are on point, and it’s been enjoyable, but I can’t really say it’s anything new.

Recap time: 17 seconds

A guy starting a new year at school, can’t remember if it’s a new school, meets a girl and is intrigued by how aloof she is, also his childhood friend is famous, and might be in love with him? Don’t know, oh, it’s about music too, I think?

First things first…

It all seems just so very familiar, and sometimes that’s a bad thing. I’ll be sticking with this one, just to kind of see where it’s going, but the MC is bland, and I’m not the first one say that. The lead heroine, Fuuka, is intriguing, and reason enough to watch, and with his childhood friend, I’m expecting to see some sort of lover’s triangle.

Again, it’s not anything new, but I’ll be patient and see where it takes us.

A few people I’ve spoken to have read manga, but I have not, so I don’t want to assume anything about the characters or where the story is going.

To speak the truth, I have the slightest fear of being disappointed with where it’s going to end, but it’s a journey I’m willing to make, if only for my audience….

There it is…

These are all the new animes that I started to watch in the month of February. I’ll be doing these small recaps of what I’m watching every month so that’s something to look forward to…

Parting thoughts…

  • Still working on the ReLIFE posts, and you should be seeing that shortly, as quickly as today or tomorrow
  • I’ve had to deal with a small family emergency and a little anxiety on my part, and that’s why it’s been a while since I posted anything, but the situation is resolved, more importantly, no writer’s block so, yeah…
  • I’ve got a number of new “series” of posts coming up, so that should be fun
  • I’ve been wondering if the addition of pictures to the posts is having any effect…
  • Gonna rewatch all of Attack on Titan in preparation for the season premiere happening in a month or so, you should be seeing something to that effect pretty soon here…
  • Oh, I guess the anime that I would recommend to watch of the four that I discussed would Kobayashi’s Maid Dragon, but I don’t have a real reason why, only that it drew me in…maybe I like maids or something…
  • If there’s an anime you would like me to watch or an anime you recommend, feel free to let me know and I’ll check it out.

 

 

Leave a Reply

